ECE Colloquium: Wonbin Hong(POSTECH) “Invisible Microwave Antennas using Meso-scale Electrodes for Future Wireless Communication”

December 06, 2016 / 16:00 ~ 17:15

Speaker : Wonbin Hong



Future electronics devices with the capability of high-speed wireless communication will increasingly rely on the implementation of efficient and intelligent antennas.

However, conventional wireless communication systems for small wireless electronics devices suffer from low radiation efficiencies of miniaturized antennas implemented within less-than ideal locations and real estates.

This talk introduces the original concept of utilizing the entire transparent region of high resolution OLED touch displays to render an antenna that is completely invisible to the human eye. A transverse magnetic resonant mode antenna is formulated based on transparent conductive polymers, which are precisely realized using meso-scale formation of electromagnetic boundary conditions.

A transparent antenna film that can be integrated inside an OLED touch display and feature efficient radiation properties at microwave frequency will be discussed in detail. The presented theory and measurement studies of the fabricated prototype inspires a prospect of a broader range of future microwave optoelectronics.



Wonbin Hong received his B.S. in electrical engineering from Purdue University, West Lafayette in 2004 and Masters and Ph.D. also in electrical engineering from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor in 2005 and 2009 respectively. From 2009 to 2016, he was with Samsung Electronics as a principal and senior engineer. As of 2016 February, Dr. Hong is with the Department of Electrical Engineering at POSTECH (Pohang University of Science and Technology) as an assistant professor.

He is currently serving as the Associate Editor of the IEEE Transaction on Antennas and Propagation and Guest Editor of the IEEE Transaction on Antennas and Propagation Special Edition on Antennas and Propagation Aspects of 5G Communications. As a senior member of the IEEE, he is actively serving as the technical program committee for the IEEE iWAT 2016, 2015, IEEE IMWS-Bio 2014/2013, and session chairs at numerous IEEE AP-S events is currently serving as the technical program committee member of the 2017 IEEE RWW, 2017 IEEE EuCAP, IEEE iWAT 2017 and 2018 IEEE ISAP.